A comment on the curse of dementia


Its age, they said your arteries and veins have turned to stone
And soon you’ll find it isn’t safe for you to be alone.
You may forget your children and even your own name
It’s not your fault, it’s illness you should feel no sense of shame.
But as the darkness deepens I’ll leave everything behind
Till all that’s left are shreds and strings of my inclement mind.
Day by day I’m losing everything that makes me, me
As I struggle to retain my grip on fading sanity.
I used to fear my death and thought that nothing could be worse
But that was in the time before I met this vicious curse.
This thing that looms before me horrifies me and I find
I can’t face what the future holds with my inclement mind.
I am waiting now in sadness, in anger and in fear
As my mind is taken from me leaving just my body here
I used to think that leaving life would be my greatest dread
I didn’t know that there were things much worse than being dead
The best that I can hope for now is that the end is kind
And peace will take the fear away from my inclement mind

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “A comment on the curse of dementia

  1. It’s a wonderful poem about an all-too-often tragic condition. Enjoyed.

    Like

  2. A dear friend suffered a brain haemorrhage earlier this year. He had the most amazing mind but must now re-learn basic stuff like speech and using his hands. So it’s very tiring for him to communicate his world. But there are windows in time when it becomes obvious that he absorbs everything around him. He can resonate when people adjust their frequency – not too loud and not too fast. Music works best of all.

    Like

    • How tragic. There have been great advances in the treatment of brain damage in recent years and I truly hope that your friend is able to regain as many as possible of his previous abilities. At least you do know that you can communicate and that is some small comfort I should imagine. We are all on the very edge all the time aren’t we and it takes a relatively small change to cause absolute havoc. Actually this poem was in part about my mother in law who did suffer for many years from dementia and the most upsetting stage was the one where she realised that something was wrong but didn’t know what. It underlines again that we must try and live every moment as fully as we are able. – thanks for reading – Diane

      Like

Leave a Reply

