The Night Breather


“Wake up, hey wake up.”

“What, whassup. Hmm?”

“Can you hear that?”

“Eh, just a mo, hear what?”

“Breathing?”

“Uh.”

“Can you hear that noise, that breathing?”

“I can’t hear anything.”

“Yes, yes, breathing. Outside the window, someone’s breathing.”

“We’re on the second floor.”

“I know but it sounds like breathing. I’ve been laid awake an hour listening.”

“Oh for heaven’s sake it’s the middle of the night.”

“Yeah, sorry, sorry, but it’s a bit scary. Don’t you think it’s – well – odd.”

“Odd, I’ll tell you what’s odd. You, you’re odd. You waken me up in the middle of the night talking about breathing outside the window.”

“Yeah, I know but well. I’m a bit spooked.”

“Look, nothing is out there, nothing is breathing except me and you. Go to sleep. I have to get up for work in – what – shit three hours. Go to sleep, nothing’s breathing.”

“But,” …

*************

“Gavin, Gavin. Where are you? Why did you leave the window open, Gavin. Oh God Gavin.”

1 Comment

Filed under Serials, Shorts and Stuff

One response to “The Night Breather

Leave a Reply

