Make Believe Blog Tour


I was very flattered to be asked to take part in this tour and must apologise for not getting to grips with it properly.

Audrey from the wonderful My Withershins Blog paid me this compliment do have a look at her blog it is a treasure chest of writerly posts and craft ideas.

Anyway I will start to make amends by trying to answer the questions:

1) What is the working title of your book?

My Work in Progress at the moment is called “The Grave” I think I’ll stick with that if I self publish it.  Although the story moves away from the burial place quite quickly it does impact quite a lot on the story as it progresses.

2) Where did the idea come from for your book?

As with many of my stories it started with the first sentence and moved on from there.  The first chapter was a stand alone short fiction piece but I have re-written it quite a lot now after helpful feedback from the Authonomy crowd.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

I guess it would be Horror/crime/romance  That’s quite a mix isn’t it but I do have trouble keeping to one genre.  I know that’s pretty bad but I can’t help it 🙂

4) Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition?

I have absolutely no idea.  All I will say is that it wouldn’t be Tom Cruise – Just Sayin –  Mr Lee Child, pshaw.

5) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Samuel wants to be alone but when chance throws him and Sylvie together the results are catastrophic and life changing for both of them.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I would of course never refuse to talk to an agency but I expect I will self publish on Kindle as I have with my other stuff. 

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It started life as a blog serial so it was about one chapter each day so about 40 days.  I have done some re-writing since then mainly of the early chapters. 

8) What other books would you compare this story to?

I can’t actually think of anything that I have read that is similar and I do hesitate to compare myself to other author as it seems a bit presumptuous.   Although I do enjoy reading what I have written I tend to read more adventure type things, for example Jack Reacher stories and I wouldn’t be able to write anything like that.  Perhaps there were some influences there in the development of Samuel.

9) Who or what inspired you to write the book?

I just take what I am given by the Muse and say thank you so much.  Nothing particularly inspired me except the continual need to write. 

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I think it has a couple of neat twists, they surprised me when they came along.  I have been told that it’s gripping and I hope that it does make a couple of very subtle social comments regarding the evil of drugs and war.  

I have to now find some volunteers to do this for me, so I will try to get to grips with that.

Okay visit these guys next week on Thursday and have at look at their interviews

Lilian Kendrick’s blog

Lillian is a prolific writer of novels, poetry and short fiction and runs the Flash Fiction Friday competition on Authonomy which has been the birthplace of so much of my work.  Apart from all that she’s a lovely person.  Pay her a visit.

Leave a comment

Filed under thought for the day (or the week or maybe even the year)

Leave a Reply

