Nominative Determinism


Nominative determinism

“Moderation.”

“What?”

“Moderation.”

“But, that’s not even a name. It’s a, a word an attitude of mind.”

“It’s the modern trend. You know like River, Apple, Sunday.”

“Yeah, I know but it’s – it’s so dull.”

“No, it’s not. It’s – sensible and realistic.”

“It’s dull and boring. Why, why would you want to call him that? I thought we were going for Charlie or Harry.”

“Yeah, I know but look at him.”

“Hmm gorgeous.”

“Yes, gorgeous and tiny and so vulnerable.”

“Didn’t feel tiny an hour ago.”

“Oh I know, poor you. You did marvellously.”

“Yeah, I did didn’t I. Sorry I swore at you.”

“’S’okay. Here give us a kiss.”

“But seriously though he needs a name.”

“Yes, well that’s what I thought. Moderation, it’ll..you know keep him safe. Grounded.”

“I don’t want him safe and grounded.”

“How can you say that?”

“Well of course I want him safe, god I’ve only known him an hour and I’d die for him you know that but I don’t want him grounded. I want him exceptional. I want him to reach for the stars. I want him to be like his daddy. You’re not safe and boring and moderate. You joined the army. You went and fought and you were brave.”

“I was blown apart.”

“And you came back to me.”

“With no legs.”

“You came back to me and you endured and we made a whole new human. That’s not ordinary. I want him to be like you – Amazing.”

“I love you.”

“I love you too. Tell you what then, let’s go traditional. Let’s call him Dominic.”

“But that’s me.”

“Yes.”

3 Comments

Filed under Serials, Shorts and Stuff

3 responses to “Nominative Determinism

  1. What a lovely story! Very tender. I needed that 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you. I am so pleased that you liked it.

    Like

  3. Fran Macilvey

    Ah, yes, lovely. Thanks, Diane! xxx 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

