Just for Love


“So, shall I just sit here?”

“Yes, that’s fine Jane, just settle down. This shouldn’t take long. You do understand don’t you, why we have asked you to come in early today.”

“Yes, yes, I was glad to get started to be honest, I was getting quite nervous thinking about it.”

“We need to make sure that you fully understand what is happening here and then, if you are still happy you need to sign some forms.”

“Okay, though I have had some stuff, you know brochures and leaflets. Some of em were a bit, well you know near the knuckle, enough to put me off. Though they didn’t – I need you to know that, really I was joking.”

“Yes, we are obliged to make sure you are fully aware of what you are about to do.”

“Yep, yep – ‘course.”

“So, I think maybe the best thing would be for you to ask me any questions that you might have. If you have read the literature then that’s probably the way to go.”

“Well, okay. I suppose the only thing I want to ask is whether or not it will hurt much. That’s the thing that’s been on my mind. I’m not, well you know I’m not very brave or anything.”

“There will be some pain, not during the procedure but afterwards, you will be sore for a while and you will need to take things easy. You won’t be able to go back to work for a couple of weeks. Will that present you with a problem?”

“No, I’ve taken unpaid leave. I thought it was best, they were good at work – about the time off and so on but they need to cover my position so it’ll cost them. Anyway, that’s fine.”

“Do you want me to go into detail about the procedure; you are supposed to understand exactly what will happen.”

“D’ya know what I would rather not know to be honest, I know I’ll be asleep and that when I wake up it’ll be over – that’s good enough for me.”

“Well, if you’re happy we can get you signed in and then in a couple of hours we will be ready for you. Is there anything else?”

“Yeah, well I wonder if you can tell the little boy, Tommy isn’t it.”

“Yes, Tommy.”

“Well, just tell him I hope my bone marrow makes him better. Can you do that.”

“Yes, we can do that. Do you want to meet him, and his family?”

“No, no I’d be a bit embarrassed to be honest, no it’s fine, just tell ‘em I was glad to help and I hope he gets better.”

“I will. Thankyou.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Serials, Shorts and Stuff

Leave a Reply

