We’re back. A couple of poems and a picture.


So, arrived back from the seaside last night to find that the interweb was broke – it wasn’t me.

Tons of sorting out to do and the tent is covered in tree sap from the pine trees so that’ll need a clean.  However, one lovely surprise was that my little Poem The Wedding Gown got the most votes in the Flash Poesy competition on Authonomy so, without further ado here it is.  I was absolutely thrilled that it was so well liked.

 

The Wedding Gown. 

It draws me from my slumber
A spectre in the night.
The moon has found the buttons
And sprinkled them with light.
I cross my lonely bedroom,
The boards are cold and bare
And I reach into the corner
For it still is hanging there.
My fingers stroke the satin,
The ancient, precious lace.
I hold it close against me
A cloud upon my face.
The train it falls in wavelets
Folds so pure and white
But the garland made of rosebuds
Is dark against the night.
Now tears of sadness blind me
As I turn and walk away
Never and forever will it be our wedding day.


Where we stayed at Pyla there are wonderful sunsets and the residents on the camp site gather on the top of the dunes to watch each night.  It is a special moment, often there is a particular atmosphere as many nationalities gather together to watch the display.

We have lots of photographs and I’m going to post some but here is just one taken at random for the collection. (If you want any of these as clean copies (without the teeny watermark, just drop me a line and I’ll email it to you)

sunset 1 web large

This made me think of the Villanelle that I did a week of so ago.

Flight

The geese are leaving in the evening light
I want to hold them and not have it so
Beat on beat on into the endless night

My life goes with them as they take to flight
Skeins and ribbons in the fading glow
The geese are leaving in the evening light

The stars are glimmering like diamonds bright
The moon will soon put on its magic show
Beat on beat on into the endless night

I watch them now until they’re out of sight
My eyes are streaming as I see them go
The geese are leaving in the evening light

I won’t be here to greet the new spring flight
I feel my heart now as it starts to slow
Beat on beat on into the endless night

I watched them soaring in the shadowed height
I feel the life force cease its vibrant flow
The geese are leaving in the evening light
Beat on beat on into the endless night.

 

1 Comment

Filed under thought for the day (or the week or maybe even the year)

One response to “We’re back. A couple of poems and a picture.

  1. Fran Macilvey

    Yum, yum yummy! xxxx 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

